Flintshire Green: Why I’m Marching Today.

Alasdair with the First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon at the last Scrap Trident demonstration in 2014
Alasdair with the First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon at the last Scrap Trident demonstration in 2014

Today I’m marching in Glasgow against nuclear weapons. Just half an hour from the UK’s third largest city sit enough nuclear weapons to indiscriminately kill millions. Their advocates claim that they stop us ever being threatened with similar weapons, but look at Putin’s threats in the last week and you can see that this is rubbish. These weapons currently cost us £3bn per year in running costs, and replacing them will set us back £100bn more.

At the same time as these sit in Scotland, we have children in Alyn and Deeside sat in homes that their parents can’t afford to heat. We have a housing shortage and rip off rents. We have an NHS which only a few weeks ago was in ‘crisis’ according to its own staff, and North East Wales is still threatened with unit closures.

We have a simple choice- build a society that cares or a society that bombs.

I believe that we can do better than this. I also believe in standing up for my beliefs. That’s why I’m marching today, that’s why I will also be at the blockade of Faslane Naval Base, where the nuclear attack fleet is based, next Monday. I am running for parliament because I believe that we can do this, that we can do better, and I am determined to see that we do.

Join me and we can make this happen- vote Green on May the 7th and we can make a real difference to the lives of the people in this constituency who need it most.

Leave a Reply

